top of page

The 5 Whisky Regions of Scotland

Scotch whisky regions

So, what do you know about the whisky regions of Scotland?

There are, in fact, only five designated regions of Scotland when it comes to whisky, and according to Scotch Whisky labelling regulations, these are the only regions that can be mentioned on Scotch whisky bottles. The regions are –


The Highland region is the biggest area of whisky production of the five. It also includes all of the whisky producing Islands in Scotland except for Islay which is a region on its own. Some say that the Islands are a distinct region of their own too, but according to the governing watch body, the Scotch Whisky Association, it remains as a part of Highland. It has a very diverse range of whiskies due to the physical size of the region with many options to choose from. Oban, Dalwhinnie, Glenmorangie, Dalmore and Aberfeldy are just a few of the whiskies that can be found in this region. A good selection from the Islands would be Talisker, my personal favourite of them all, Highland Park from Orkney and Arran, Jura and Skye all named after their island of origin


The Lowland region, at the risk of stating the obvious is anything on mainland Scotland south of the Highland region and North of the English border, of course ! There is a very low concentration of distilleries in this area compared to the other regions. This is changing slowly due to the upcoming smaller craft distilleries of today and the geographical benefits that it offers having the central belt of Scotland in the region. It has a reputation generally for lighter more floral flavours of whisky although this is becoming more and more diverse in recent times. Glenkinchie, Auchentoshan, Daftmill and Girvan are all here.


Speyside is home to the most whisky distilleries of all, with 50 at the last count. This is where you will find the famous malt whisky trail where you can visit many distilleries in a day. Speyside whiskies tend to be sweeter, rounder and lighter than the others. You will find many famous distilleries here, Strathisla, the oldest of them all and home to Chivas Regal, Macallan with it’s beautiful, thoughtfully refurbished visitors centre is a must see and the Speyside cooperage where casks are built and rejuvenated in readiness for the next batches of whisky to mature in. Glenfiddich, Glenfarclas, the Balvenie and Cragganmore all reside in Speyside. The jewel in the crown of regions in my opinion.


The spectacular isle of Islay, truly makes the most amazing unique

whiskies to match. Although not all are to everybody’s taste. Heavily peated flavours is the name of the game on Islay. Whiskies have a distinctly strong some describe as medicinal flavour and you will certainly know an Islay malt when you try one. There are 8 distilleries on Islay and the Island prides itself on it’s whisky producing people. You will be made most welcome over a dram of Islay malt on this island. Laphroaig, Lagavulin, Ardbeg, Bowmore and Bruichladdich are all proud residents of Islay.


This is the smallest of al regions, with only 3 distilleries. It is also geographically the smallest. At one time there were over 30 distilleries in this small town earning it’s reputation as the whisky capital of the world. These times have now changed dramatically with only Springbank, Glengyle and Glen Scotia remaining in operation.

Here at Whisky Prestige, we would take great pleasure in getting you to any of these regions where you can experience the whisky delights for yourself. If you have future travel plans that you would like to discuss with us, please do not hesitate to get in touch. There is no obligation to you and any bookings made are fully refundable should COVID restrictions get in the ay of our plans.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page